And the Winners Are

An array of San Antonio artists scoop up Texas Medal of Arts honors

An array of San Antonio artists scoop up Texas Medal of Arts honors

Tobin Center for the Performing Arts
The Tobin Endowment has been honored with this year's Texas Medal of Arts. Photo courtesy of Tobin Center for the Performing Arts

The 2017 honorees for the biennial Texas Medal of Arts Awards have been announced, and it's a pretty starry list. Recognizing "amazing Texans who have made powerful contributions to the arts here at home and around the world," the awards are given by the Texas Cultural Trust and will be held in Austin February 21-22.

This year's winners are a diverse bunch of actors, musicians, dancers, artists, writers, architects, reporters, and philanthropists. They will all be celebrated at the state's most prestigious arts gala, held for the first time at Texas Performing Arts at the University of Texas at Austin. The slated events include a Stars of Texas brunch at the governor’s mansion, an awards show with special musical performances, and a gala dinner.

Notable San Antonio winners include the multi-hyphenate John Phillip Santos, a writer-filmmaker-producer who was the first Mexican-American to become a Rhodes Scholar, and CBS Evening News anchor Scott Pelley, who is also a correspondent for 60 Minutes.

The Tobin Endowment gets the nod for being a "foundation patron" — this year's winners were first announced at the Tobin Center for the Performing Arts.

Other recognizable names include musicians Kris Kristofferson and Kenny Rogers; Dallas architect Frank Welch; and musical theater actress Renée Elise Goldsberry, who won a 2016 Tony Award for her role in Hamilton.

"People from all over Texas and from all artistic disciplines are honored and celebrated as we raise awareness about how vital the arts are to our state’s economy and our children’s education," says Texas Cultural Trust executive director Jennifer Ransom Rice in a release. "We hope for continuing and expanding support for the arts for future generations to appreciate, embrace, and enjoy."

The complete list is as follows:

Corporate Patron: John Paul & Eloise DeJoria, Paul Mitchell/Patrón Tequila, Austin
Multimedia: Kris Kristofferson, Brownsville
Individual Arts Patron: Lynn Wyatt, Houston
Dance: Lauren Anderson, Houston
Music: Yolanda Adams, Houston
Arts Education: Dallas Black Dance Theatre, Dallas
Theater: Renée Elise Goldsberry, Houston
Foundation Patron: The Tobin Endowment, San Antonio
Visual Art: Leo Villareal, El Paso
Architecture: Frank Welch, Dallas
Literary: John Phillip Santos, San Antonio
Journalism: Scott Pelley, San Antonio
Lifetime Achievement: Kenny Rogers, Houston

To date, the Texas Medal of Arts Awards has presented 99 medals to 105 Texas legends and luminaries who have achieved greatness through their creative talents, as well as those whose generosity has opened doors to artistic opportunity for Texans of all ages. Past honorees have included Jamie Foxx, Eva Longoria, ZZ Top, Willie Nelson, Dan Rather, Neiman Marcus, Margaret McDermott, Tommy Lee Jones, Debbie Allen, Walter Cronkite, Lake Flato Architects, the Nasher Foundation, Sandra Cisneros, Clint Black, and Lyle Lovett, among others.